• Blog posts


    By John Flanagan



    Families are the main building blocks in Revit. Almost every element, from walls to furniture, is a family. Families are model or annotation elements that have been grouped together and set up with dimensions and other parameters.

    Differentiate 3 Kind of Families

    There are three different kinds of families in Revit.


     In-Place Families:

    • These families are modelled directly in a Revit project.
    • Use the Model In-Place tool to create project specific custom forms.
    • In-Place Families cannot be loaded into or saved out of a project.


     Loadable Families

    • Loadable families are created a .rfa file and then loaded in model or template.
    • Categories can include doors, furniture, tags and lighting fixtures.
    • They can be created and loaded into a project as well as deleted or saved from a project.


    System Families

    • These are the families that are pre-defined families specific to a Revit Project.
    • You do not load them into your project from external files. They are embedded inside a project or template.
    • Categories include walls, roofs, floors and stairs.

    Host vs. Stand-alone Families

    Families can be Host-based or stand-alone. Host-based families include those that are dependent on host (wall, ceiling, floor, roof or face.) Stand-alone families, such as desks and chairs, do not need a host. How you create families depends on the way you want to use an element. For example, if you were creating a floor or table lamp, you would create a stand-alone family.



Please sign in to leave a comment.