• Blog posts

    Bio

    by Justin Doughty

    BIM_360_Cache_JD_01.png

    When collaborating with BIM 360 in Revit or other products, there may be times when only one certain user cannot use or access a file and all other users are fine. This can be caused by a history of a file becoming stuck for that machine or user. To resolve this you can clear the contents of various cache folders.  As always, make sure all work and changes have been saved or backed up, then exit all software and clear the folders.

    Below are the locations of these cache folders, along with some links to guides:

    -TEMP files:

    C:\Users\%USERNAME%\AppData\Local\Temp

    How-to-delete-temporary-files-in-Windows

     

    -Revit Collaboration Cache:

    C:\Users\%USERNAME%\AppData\Local\Autodesk\Revit\Autodesk Revit ####\CollaborationCache

    Clear-a-corrupt-damaged-C4R-model-from-the-system

     

    -Personal Accelerator Cache:

    C:\Users\%USERNAME%\AppData\Local\Autodesk\Revit\PacCache

     

    -Temporary Internet Files:

    C:\Users\%USERNAME%\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\INetCache

    (You may also want to clear other browser history and cache, such as Chrome).

     

    -Desktop Connector:

    Right click the account/project/folder and Free Up Space:

    BIM_360_Cache_JD_02.png

    How-to-clear-the-cache-of-the-BIM-360-Desktop-Connector

    Also signing out and back in to any Autodesk software and services is recommended.