by Justin Doughty
With the Revit 2021.1 update Autodesk introduced Shared Views. Shared Views work in the same way as other Autodesk products such as AutoCAD, allowing you to share a view of a file with anyone using just a link. It can then be viewed, measured and marked up in any internet browser. The Shared View is active for 30 days, but can be extended or deleted by the creator.
This is accessed from the Collaborate Tab>Share Panel>Shared Views:
However Revit currently (July 2020) has some differences to Shared Views that you need to be aware of:
- Only 3D Views can be Shared.
- A Section Box in the 3D View affects what is viewable in the Shared View. This is really useful if you just need to send someone part of a model to view.
- A Camera View does NOT affect what is viewable. The entire 3D model will be able to be viewed.
- You currently do not get any options during Shared View Creation. Other products give options to include properties or certain areas.
- No properties or family data etc. is captured or displayed. You cannot select any model elements in the Shared View.