By Dennis Collin
Although Revit has a purge command for cleaning Revit files. The purge command will not remove rooms that have been deleted from the main project file. These rooms will potentially show on schedules unless the hide not placed/unenclosed filter applied is on the schedule view.
Despite the room being hidden the rooms will still exist in the project and although the rooms can be found with a bit of searching, a room clean tool would be a nice out of the box feature. However, an add-in is available currently free of charge from the App store which makes this job much easier.
Once installed a button appears on the Add-in tab and clicking on the room purge command removes any deleted rooms from the project. This add-in function is available for both Revit 2019 and 2020 versions.
The link to the add-in can be found here: https://apps.autodesk.com/RVT/en/Detail/Index?id=4359682771013222981&appLang=en&os=Win64