• Blog posts

    Bio

    By Martin Phelps

    Not new to Revit, but often overlooked, during the creation and editing of a project it’s very easy to get carried away opening multiple “Views”.

    To make the most of the available screen area, only one view may be displayed at one time, although multiple views can be tiled, but generally the working view is as large as possible. Opening additional “Views” or switching from “View” to “View” is normally carried out using the “Project browser”.

    This can also be the case if several projects are open at the same time.

    It’s only when the open projects require closing at the end of the editing session, or the “Tile Views” command located in the “View” tab is selected, that the user may realise just how many views are open.

    Using the “Close Inactive” command in the “Windows” panel of the “View” tab, as shown in Figure 1, can quickly reduce the amount of open views.

    Revit_-_Controlling_Views_-_1.PNG

    This command will be “Greyed Out” if only one view is active.

    All the open “Views”, except for the current view, will automatically be closed and therefore the project will not be closed, without input from the user. This can be a useful time saver particularly when multiple “Views” are open in several projects.

    By holding down the “CRTL” key and pressing the “Tab” key the user can cycle forward through all the open “Views”. If there are multiple projects open then this option will cycle through the open “Views” project by project.

    To move backwards through the open “Views”, hold down the “CTRL” and “Shift” keys and press the “Tab” key.