Site and Project Directory Settings in Navisworks

By Andy Davis

Have you ever wondered how the Site and Project Directory settings were supposed to work in Navisworks?

In Navisworks, you can share global settings, workspaces, datatools, avatars and other configuration settings with other users. You can share these settings by pointing the Site Directory or Project Directory to a location that contains an exported copy of the settings.

However, what you may not realise is that these Site and Project options are defined at installation time and loaded the very first time that Navisworks application is run.  Subsequently, any changes made to the configuration settings locally will take precedence over the globally defined Site and Project settings. 

And that makes testing your deployment interesting, because unless you are generating the global options on another machine, if you adjust any settings locally, the values from the Site and Project files will be ignored.

Comments

Powered by Zendesk